Rolling those Eggs

Of course my recipe does not contain any eggs. It does come with a story (the best ones always do).  When I was a tiny girl we lived in Hawaii and we would go to this little restaurant where my parents would order wantons and I would eat them.  That was a major deal for me because I was a stupidly picky eater. Those tiny wantons made our whole family happy – they were delicious to eat and it was a fun time out of the house while nobody was freaking out about not wanting to consume the food. It was like those tiny little packages of meat could wash away all the darkness off of our otherwise happy Hawaiian days.  It was like magic.

Later, after we’d moved to Omaha, we could not find anything that could compare. We did, however, have a deep fat fryer. The solution felt closer than it really was. This was before Allrecipes.com and Google. It was during the dark ages of information, when we all knew that there was data to be had in the minds of others, but an actual phone call would need to be made in order to procure that information. Can you even remember those days? Do we want to?

We never did figure out how to make those wantons taste like our favorite ones, but we did strike upon our own little version of awesome, consisting of pre-made wanton wrappers, ground beef, ginger, soy, green onion and pepper. My brother, mother and I would whip them up and try to not eat them all before dinner officially began. It was another kindred spirit kind of moment in our family (most of them center around food. Stop judging us. Never mind, go right ahead. We also firmly believe that the toilet paper should unroll from the top and not hang out underneath the roll, hiding from everyone in some kind of not fun hide-and-seek at two am). Where was I? Oh yes. We love eating.

Somewhere in there, though, probably around the time I was living on my own and only buying meat once a week to save moolah, I discovered vegetables and started adding them to every lunch and supper. Kind of an obvious one there, I realize, but a revolutionary one for me. And that is how pseudo-wantons became egg rolls.

Kim’s Almost Real Egg Roll Recipe

1 lb Ground Turkey
1/2 head each of purple and green cabbage (julienned)
6 carrots (shredded)
1/2 bundle of green onion
1 package of pre-made egg roll/wanton wrappers (typically found near the bag lettuce/tofu portion of your market)
1/4 cup to a 1/2 cup of Soy Vay Very Very Teriyaki Sauce
ginger to taste
Wesson Oil for frying

Here are pictures of the things that are prefab in the recipe:

I could sing the praises of SoyVay for a while, but you can just go here to read about them.

I like either of these wrapper brands because I think they cook up the way I prefer. You can disagree and buy whatever.

Brown the meat the way you always do and add the 1/4-1/2 cup of Soy Vay after it is fully cooked. Meanwhile, julienne the cabbage, shred the carrots and thinly slice the green onion. Add them into the pan and cook slightly (that’s kind of an annoying way to put it, but don’t cook them too much and get mush. Let them keep their crispness). Remove from heat.

Prep your cutting board with a small bowl of lukewarm water and get your wraps in front of you like they are diamonds (the packaging shows you how to fold them, but just in case…). Place the filling diagonally on the wrap. Fold the bottom corner over filling. Fold up both sides snugly against the filling. Moisten the edges with water. Fold the top over and seal with water.

In a deep skillet, heat oil to 350 (I put my burner control right under medium-high). Place egg rolls, flap side down, into the oil, using tongs (or go ahead and burn yourself like I do. It’s awesomer). Cover with a splatter pan and let fry for 1-2 minutes. Once the wrapper is golden brown, flip and cook just slightly less than the other side. Remove to paper towels and devour.

Jud likes to eat them with Thai Sweet Chili Sauce and I prefer them plain. Imagine that.

    • Tawnya
    • June 14th, 2011

    SUPER excited to try this! I wonder if these could be frozen too for a later time or if the wraps would get soggy…..might have to freeze a couple to find out..unless you know! Thanks for sharing!

    • kmackrill1
    • June 14th, 2011

    I freeze things so infrequently given Jud and Gideon’s consumption rates, plus we are really into a day or two of leftovers that Jud takes to work with him. BUT! Let me (and the rest of us) know how freezing turns out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

